Nepal the Country of Mount Everest and Buddha

Standard

I was sitting on my bed thinking about my family and where they came from. The history of that place, called Nepal, their home, my home. In this essay I will share information and my own connection about Nepal . I know I will learn a lot, and I promise to share my learning with others. In this show and tell I am going to write about a few subjects that really stand out to me about Nepal.

Nepal’s Flag

When I looked through the book, “Atlas of the world” for flags, I can find Nepal’s flag easily. It is the most unique flag in the world, because it is in a triangular shape, and all other flags are rectangular. So many flags are similar to other flags. But Nepal’s flag is very, very different. On Nepal’s flag the border is blue, and the background is red. In the middle there is an image of the sun and the moon. But still I had some questions like

  • What does the blue and red mean?
  • What does the sun and moon mean?

I went on the internet and researched. Seems like, the blue border resembles peace. No wars, no fighting. The red background stands for the national flower of Nepal – Rhododendron. Red also stands for braveness. The sun means eternity, and the moon means harmony.

Interesting fact: Nepal is an independent country, and has never been colony of any foreign country in its entire history.

Mt. Everest

Everyone says that Nepal is a small country, but I disagree with that statement. To me, Nepal is the biggest country in the world. Why? Because it is the home to the tallest mountain in the world – Mount Everest (Sagarmatha) . Mt. Everest is 29,029 feet tall. It was first located by Sir George Everest. That’s how Mt. Everest got its name. Did you know Mt. Everest grows 1.6 to 3.9 inches taller each year? Isn’t that amazing? Although, Mt. Everest does not grow by magic, shifting tectonic plates push Mt. Everest up. Mt. Everest was first climbed in 1953 by Tensing Norgay from Nepal and Edmond Hillary from New Zealand.

Surprising fact: Mauna Kea in Hawaii is taller than Mt .Everest. But this is only right if you measure the mountain from the ocean floor.

Nepalese way of Marriage

People get married in different ways around the world. I am fascinated how traditional marriage happens in Nepal. It’s usually arranged by the parents – based on the traditional values and wellness. I also like the marriage costumes. The bride wears a red sari and a matching veil and lots of gold necklaces, a pair of gold earrings, and bangles. The groom wears Daura-Suruwal and a Topi [hat] and Mala (necklace made out of grass and of flowers ). The bride and the groom also exchange rings. They play Panche Baja (traditional musical instruments).

Conclusion

I enjoyed writing this essay. I learned many things about Nepal that I did not know before. As I promised in the beginning, I will share my knowledge with others.

Bibliography

  1. Do rivers ever end? Published in: 2011, Southwestern Company.
  2. Explore and learn Atlas of the world Published in: 2008, Southwestern Company.
  3. http://www.teameverest03.org/everest_info/index.html
  4. http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/articles/nepal/Weddings-and-Marriage-in-Nepal/435
  5. http://www.trekshimalaya.com/wed ding. php
  6. http://www.istockphoto.com/stock-photo-9036821-nepalese-hindu-marriage.php
  7. http://www.hotelnepal.com/nepal/program.php?pro_id=26
About Christine

Hi!!! My name is Christine and I live in Markham, ON, Canada. I love to write and read books, they are both awesome hobbies. I also love to blog, it's really cool. I'm also learning gymnastics, I'm really flexible. I also have a sister, named Suzanne. She's really nice. One thing's for sure, I can't live without my family and friends. In 20 years you'll probably see me being a gymnast. Well, that's mainly all about me.

Leave a Reply

